Top Ubuntu 9.04 Applications I Am Using

July 30, 2009 at 10:10 am 3 comments

Ubuntu_Logo

During my switchover to Ubuntu I was constantly finding programs that would resemble the ones I used in Windows. I have compiled a list of programs that I commonly use in Ubuntu that are an excellent alternative to their Windows counterpart.

OpenOffice

Aside from being free this program is very easy to use. It is compatible with Microsoft Office and is also composed of different components namely Writer (Word counterpart), Calc (Excel counterpart), Impress (PowerPoint counterpart), Draw and Base (Access counterpart)

Pidgin

For all your instant messaging concerns Pidgin is the answer. It can connect you to your Yahoo, MSN and GTalk accounts.

GIMP

Who needs Photoshop with GIMP around? This photo editing software does the same job as Adobe Photoshop with the advantage of being free. All of the photos in this blog are edited by GIMP by the way.

Firefox

This is the web browser of choice for Ubuntu users. It’s fast and you can customize it using add-ons which you could easily get.

K3B

This is my favorite disk burning program in Ubuntu. You could burn CD’s or DVD’s using this and the interface is really quite easy.

VLC

Ubuntu comes with the default Totem media player but I downloaded VLC from the repositories. It’s a great media player that reads almost all media formats.

Limewire

For all those who use Limewire there is also a program available for Ubuntu. The interface is the same as the Windows version so you won’t have a hard time in using this.

KGET

This is a download manager that integrates perfectly with Firefox. I have been using this in Ubuntu and haven’t experienced any problems so far.

.

.

IS THIS THE BEST UBUNTU VERSION?

ubuntubest

Entry filed under: Software.

Microsoft and Yahoo Teams Up Against Google World’s Smallest USB Flash Drive: Pico by Super Talent now 32 GB!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pat Tiberi  |  January 1, 2010 at 10:50 am

    Tech Question:
    Q

    Reply
  • 2. VDSlIaWnsaONQq  |  July 5, 2013 at 5:34 pm

    50334 314570hi, your website is great. I truly do numerous thanks for operate 618763

    Reply
  • 3. anabolic from USA click here  |  July 12, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    108613 398613when i was a kid, i adore to receive an assortment of birthday presents like teddy bears and mechanical toys, 403195

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
Blog Directory & Search engine
Technology blogs & blog posts
blog search directory
Add to Technorati Favorites
Blog Directory
CONTACT ME TO ADD YOUR LINKS HERE